2017 Herne Bay High School Sports Award Evening

The 2017 Herne Bay High School Sports Award Evening took place in the Bay Theatre, on Wednesday 27th September. The audience of parents, staff and governors were invited along to celebrate the successes of our students over the past year, watching video highlights of the year and watch the students receive their awards.

This year the awards were presented by England Rugby Player Rachael Burford . Rachael gave the audience an inspirational speech about her pathway into sport including her setbacks and how these have helped her progress to where she is today. Hopefully this was a great insight for the students as to the hard work and commitment required to not only reach the top of their chosen sport but how to keep motivated and thrive to do better even when injuries occur.

The evening started with 53 students receiving our Colours Awards for representing the school in 4 or more sports and 52 students gained Silver or Gold Sports Stars for regularly attending 5 or more different PE clubs during the year.

Before the main awards were given out the audience were entertained with an exceptional performance by the Dance Company and then humorously entertained by the teacher style ‘A Question of Sport’. Despite Mr Beeson’s amazing efforts in the Sprint Finish round Mr Bunce and his chosen team were triumphant.

Then it was time for the main business. The night is our opportunity to recognise individuals for their extra special achievements and commitments to PE and Sport and celebrate these. This year’s winners of our main awards were as follows:

Outstanding Sports Leader in School

Winner: Dan Leigh and Robbie Baker Yr11
Outstanding Sports Leader in Community
Winner: Hayden Bright Yr 8
Outstanding Sports Leader in Partner Schools
Winners: Abigail Clarke Yr13
Outstanding Dance Leader in School
Winner: Donny Ferris Yr12
Mat Parsons Active Lifestyle Award
Winner: Harvey Nassirzadeh Yr12
Outstanding Achievement in Extra-Curricular PE & Sport
Winner: Ajay Scott Yr8 and Stephanie Adby Yr9
Outstanding Achievement in OAA
Winner: Rebecca Davies Yr9
Outstanding Commitment to Extra-Curricular PE & Sport
Winner: Tilly Compton Y79
Outstanding commitment to School Sport
Joe Turner Yr9
Team of the Year
Winner: U13 Boys Table Tennis Team
Brian Steele PRIDE Values Awards
Winner: Emily Sharkey

The winner of the PRIDE award this year was Emily who has volunteered a considerable amount of time assisting the PE department and SGO team, coaching in the community, representing the school’s sports teams whilst still maintaining her studies.


IMG_9950 IMG_9941
IMG_9947 IMG_9945
IMG_9949 IMG_99431


Mini Communities

  • 9237 pts £0.00
  • 9770 pts £0.00
  • 10292 pts £0.00
  • 8768 pts £0.00
  • 10299 pts £0.00